Disney+ have shared a first look and release date for its upcoming anime anthology series titled Star Wars: Visions.

Star Wars

Details of the new Star Wars series were shared at the Anime Expo Lite over the weekend, with seven Japanese anime studios handling the short films that will make up the series.

The new series will be unrestricted by either canon or time period, with the nine-episode series bringing new and familiar characters in stories that can be anything from big and action-heavy, to sweeping romantic, comedic, or even a “rock opera style film” titled Tatooine Rhapsody.

The teaser shows what we can expect when the anthology series premieres on Disney+:

A statement on the show reads:

“As a first formal venture into anime, each Star Wars: Visions short bears a unique Japanese sensibility, which in many ways aligns with the tone and spirit of Star Wars storytelling,”

“From the beginning, stories told in the Star Wars galaxy have counted Japanese mythology and the films of Akira Kurosawa among their many influences, and these new visions will further explore that cultural heritage through the unique animation style and perspective of each anime studio.”

Star Wars Star Wars

During the Expo, further details were revealed from the stories in the anthology, like Production IG’s The Ninth Jedi, which takes place in the far future where the Jedi have fallen into legend “and need to come back as darkness threatens the galaxy”, and centers on a “lightsabersmith”.

Here are the episode titles and the studios working on them:

Kamikaze Douga – The Duel

Geno Studio (Twin Engine) – Lop and Ochō

Studio Colorido (Twin Engine) – Tatooine Rhapsody

Trigger – The Twins

Trigger – The Elder

Kinema Citrus – The Village Bride

Science Saru – Akakiri

Science Saru – T0-B1

Production IG – The Ninth Jedi

Star Wars

Star Wars: Visions will arrive on September 22nd on Disney+.

To Like us on Facebook Click Here
To Follow us on Twitter Click Here